Senior executives

We are led by our Senior Executive Group (SEG). This group comprises the Secretary and the Deputy Secretaries of the four divisions.

Secretary, Department of Treasury and Finance

David Martine

David leads the Department in its role of providing economic, financial and resource management policy advice to the Government.

David joined DTF as Secretary in February 2014. Prior to this, David held a number of senior roles in the Commonwealth public sector, particularly in the Commonwealth Treasury and Department of Finance and Deregulation.

David has extensive budget, finance, policy and organisational leadership experience, and has briefed governments on wide-ranging and complex policy issues.

Deputy Secretary, Economic Division

Amy Auster

Amy commenced as Deputy Secretary, Economic in September 2016. Amy is responsible for the provision of high-level economic and policy advice to Government on productivity, taxation and regulation, along with social, environmental and development issues.

Prior to joining DTF, Amy served as Executive Director of Monash University’s Australian Centre for Financial Studies, and was a member of the Monash Business School faculty executive. Previously, she spent nearly 20 years working in the financial services industry, including at ANZ Banking Group as Head of International Economics, Head of FX Strategy and Global Head of Client Engagement and at global investment banks including JPMorgan and Merrill Lynch in New York.

Deputy Secretary, Budget and Finance Division

Simon Hollingsworth

Simon was appointed Deputy Secretary, Budget and Finance in October 2016. He is responsible for providing advice on the State’s fiscal resources, financial management and consolidated reporting, and providing financial advice on public sector workplace agreements. Prior to joining DTF, he was CEO of the Australian Sports Commission.

Previously, Simon worked with the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet in various leadership roles within the Policy and Cabinet Group. This included a secondment to work for the United Kingdom Government’s Department for Education and Skills in London. Prior to joining government, Simon worked at The Boston Consulting Group and MinterEllison.

Deputy Secretary, Corporate and Government Services Division

Gayle Porthouse

Gayle is responsible for the efficient delivery of financial, people, information, legal, planning, procurement and technology services to DTF, which supports the Department to achieve its objectives and capacity to serve government.

She is also responsible for the management of whole of Victorian Government services provided to departments and agencies, including the development of policies and initiatives to achieve continuous improvement in facilities and real estate management, procurement and strategic sourcing. Gayle joined the Department in July 2014.

Gayle has more than 30 years’ experience in the public service across several government departments, including the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

Deputy Secretary, Commercial Division

David Webster

David is responsible for providing high-level commercial, financial and risk management advice to the Government, including a focus on major commercial transactions, infrastructure and the State’s balance sheet.

David commenced as Deputy Secretary in November 2011 and has more than 20 years’ extensive international corporate and commercial senior management experience as a fund manager, equity investor, financial adviser and lender.

Prior to joining DTF, David worked for RBS Funds Management in Sydney as Executive Director and Chairman. Previously, David was Investment Director at EISER Global Infrastructure Fund in London and Head of Infrastructure Advisory at RBS London.

Reviewed 16/05/2018
Was this page helpful?