Allowable time period

Under the NDFA, all eligible expenditure must occur within a period of less than two years after the end of the financial year in which the natural disaster occurred.

The deadline for councils and catchment management authorities to provide any claims for financial assistance for all eligible costs associated with natural disaster events can be found in the table below. Any costs associated with repairs undertaken after this deadline will be deemed ineligible for reimbursement.

Claims will be accepted after 30 June of that financial year, but only where they relate to expenditure for work completed prior to this date.  All work will be required to be assessed by VicRoads prior to reimbursement, as per normal procedures under the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

It is requested that all claims be lodged by 31 July to enable the Victorian State Government to comply with Commonwealth Government timelines for acquittal and audit requirements. 

Natural disaster eventAustralian Government reference numberAllowable time period deadlineLocal government areas affected by this event
Victoria – South Eastern Floods (27 August 2015)67430 June 2018

Baw Baw, Latrobe, South Gippsland,

Wellington, Yarra Ranges

Victoria – Bushfires (3 October 2015)67630 June 2018Macedon Ranges, Mitchell, Murrindindi and Surf Coast
Victoria Storms (26 November 2015)68330 June 2018Murrindindi, Nillumbik, Pyrenees and Yarra Ranges
Victorian Bushfires (19-20, 25 December 2015)68930 June 2018Ballarat, Bass Coast, Colac-Otway, East Gippsland, Indigo, Moorabool, Murrindindi, Surf Coast, Whittlesea and Yarra Ranges
Victoria – Eastern Victorian Storms and Floods (commencing 8-9 December 2015)69030 June 2018Alpine, Wangaratta, Wellington
Victoria – Mornington Peninsula Bushfire (18 January 2016)69530 June 2018Mornington Peninsula
Victoria Geelong Storm Event (27 January 2016)69730 June 2018Geelong, Pyrenees, Surf Coast
Victorian Bushfires (23 February 2016)70130 June 2018Ballarat, Mornington Peninsula
Central and Eastern Victoria Storms (April 2016)71230 June 2018Baw Baw, Macedon Ranges, South Gippsland, Yarra Ranges
Eastern Victoria Storms (May 2016)71330 June 2018Casey, Knox, South Gippsland, Yarra Ranges
Gippsland Floods (July 2016)72130 June 2019 

Bass Coast, East Gippsland, Latrobe*, South Gippsland, Wellington 

Catchment Management Authorities:  East Gippsland, West Gippsland CMA

Eastern Victoria Storms (12 to 13 July 2016)72430 June 2019Bass Coast, East Gippsland, Frankston, South Gippsland, Yarra Ranges
Victorian Storms and Floods (September/October 2016)72830 June 2019

Alpine, Ararat, Ballarat, Baw Baw, Benalla, Bendigo, Buloke, Campaspe, Cardinia, Casey, Central Goldfields, Colac Otway, Corangamite, Frankston, Gannawarra, Glenelg, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Hindmarsh, Hobsons Bay, Horsham, Hume, Indigo, Knox, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mansfield, Melton, Mildura, Mitchell, Moira, Moonee Valley, Moorabool, Mount Alexander, Moyne, Nillumbik, Northern Grampians, Pyrenees, Shepparton, Southern Grampians, Surf Coast, Swan Hill, Towong, Wangaratta, Warrnambool, West Wimmera, Whitehorse, Wodonga, Wyndham, Yarra Ranges, Yarriambiack 

Catchment Management Authorities: 

Corangamite, Glenelg Hopkins, North Central, North East

Victorian Storms - Mildura (11 November 2016)73330 June 2019Mildura

Victorian Storms and Floods 

(29 December 2016) 

73630 June 2019Alpine, Banyule, Bayside, Cardinia, Darebin, Glen Eira, Greater Dandenong, Hume, Kingston, Knox, Latrobe, Macedon Ranges, Manningham, Maroondah, Nillumbik, Port Phillip, Strathbogie, Wangaratta, and Yarra Ranges
 Victoria Storms and Floods (21 March 2017)75730 June 2019Geelong, Southern Grampians, Yarra Ranges, Yarriambiack
Central Victoria Storms and Floods (8 April 2017)76030 June 2019Ballarat, Geelong, Hepburn, Pyrenees, Surf Coast
Central Victoria Floods and Storms (24 April 2017)76530 June 2019Geelong, Pyrenees, Surf Coast
West Victoria Floods and Storms (16 August 2017)77430 June 2020West Wimmera
Pyrenees Storms (26 November 2017) 77730 June 2020Pyrenees 
Victorian Floods and Storms (1 December 2017)77530 June 2020Alpine, Greater Shepparton, Knox, Mansfield, Mitchell, Moonee Valley, Murrindindi, Nillumbik, Strathbogie, Towong, Wangaratta, Yarra Ranges
Victorian Storms (19 December 2017)78330 June 2010Benalla, Macedon Ranges, Mildura, Mitchell, Mount Alexander, Shepparton, City of Yarra


Reviewed 26/02/2018
Was this page helpful?