Allowable time period


Natural Disaster Financial Assistance for local councils is provided to assist in the recovery process and to alleviate some financial burden that may be experienced following a natural disaster, in accordance with Commonwealth-State arrangements.

Under the NDFA, all eligible expenditure must occur within a period of less than two years after the end of the financial year in which the natural disaster occurred.

The deadline for councils and catchment management authorities to provide any claims for financial assistance for all eligible costs associated with natural disaster events can be found in the table below. Any costs associated with repairs undertaken after this deadline will be deemed ineligible for reimbursement.

Claims will be accepted after 30 June of that financial year, but only where they relate to expenditure for work completed prior to this date.  All work will be required to be assessed by VicRoads prior to reimbursement, as per normal procedures under the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

It is requested that all claims be lodged by 31 August to enable the Victorian State Government to comply with Commonwealth Government timelines for acquittal and audit requirements. 

Natural Disaster Event

Australian Government Reference No.

Allowable time period deadline

Local government areas affected by this event

Current Disasters

Victoria storms (commencing 30 July 2014)


30 June 2017

Baw Baw, Cardinia, East Gippsland, Glenelg, Latrobe, Macedon Ranges, South Gippsland, Wellington and Yarra Ranges

Victoria storms and floods (commencing 8 September 2014)


30 June 2017

Baw Baw, Benalla, Boroondara, Hume, Knox and Yarra Ranges

Gippsland Flooding (commencing 6 December 2014)


30 June 2017

East Gippsland, Wellington

Victoria Bushfires (commencing 16 December 2014)


30 June 2017

Benalla, Moira, Strathbogie, Wangaratta, Wodonga

Victoria Bushfires (commencing 2 January 2015)


30 June 2017

Ararat, Hindmarsh, Horsham, Mildura, Southern Grampians and West Wimmera

Victoria – Storms and Floods (commencing 7 January 2015)


30 June 2017

Greater Bendigo, Maroondah, Mornington Peninsula, Whitehorse

Victoria Storms – (commencing 28 February 2015)


30 June 2017

Central Goldfields, Frankston, Hepburn, Moorabool, Mount Alexander, Pyrenees, Whitehorse, Yarra Ranges

Victoria – South Eastern Floods (27 August 2015)


30 June 2018

Baw Baw, Latrobe, South Gippsland,

Wellington, Yarra Ranges


Victoria – Bushfires (3 October 2015)


30 June 2018

Macedon Ranges, Mitchell, Murrindindi and Surf Coast

Victoria Storms (26 November 2015)


30 June 2018

Murrindindi, Nillumbik, Pyrenees and Yarra Ranges

Victorian Bushfires (19-20, 25 December 2015)


30 June 2018

Ballarat, Bass Coast, Colac-Otway, East Gippsland, Indigo, Moorabool, Murrindindi, Surf Coast, Whittlesea and Yarra Ranges

Victoria – Eastern Victorian Storms and Floods (commencing 8-9 December 2015)  690  30 June 2018

Alpine, Wangaratta, Wellington

Victoria – Mornington Peninsula Bushfire (18 January 2016)

 695  30 June 2018 Mornington Peninsula

Victoria Geelong Storm Event (27 January 2016)


30 June 2018

Geelong, Pyrenees, Surf Coast

Victorian Bushfires (23 February 2016)


30 June 2018

Ballarat, Mornington Peninsula

Central and Eastern Victoria Storms (April 2016) 712 30 June 2018 Baw Baw, Macedon Ranges, South Gippsland, Yarra Ranges
Eastern Victoria Storms (May 2016) 713 30 June 2018 Casey, Knox, South Gippsland, Yarra Ranges
Gippsland Floods (July 2016) 721  30 June 2019 

Bass Coast, East Gippsland, Latrobe*, South Gippsland, Wellington 

Catchment Management Authorities:  East Gippsland, West Gippsland CMA

Eastern Victoria Storms (12 to 13 July 2016)


30 June 2019

Bass Coast, East Gippsland, Frankston, South Gippsland, Yarra Ranges

Victorian Storms and Floods (September/October 2016)


30 June 2019

Alpine, Ararat, Ballarat, Baw Baw, Benalla, Bendigo, Buloke, Campaspe, Cardinia, Casey, Central Goldfields, Colac Otway, Corangamite, Frankston, Gannawarra, Glenelg, Golden Plains, Hepburn, Hindmarsh, Hobsons Bay, Horsham, Hume, Indigo, Knox, Loddon, Macedon Ranges, Mansfield, Melton, Mildura, Mitchell, Moira, Moonee Valley, Moorabool, Mount Alexander, Moyne, Nillumbik, Northern Grampians, Pyrenees, Shepparton, Southern Grampians, Surf Coast, Swan Hill, Towong, Wangaratta, Warrnambool, West Wimmera, Whitehorse, Wodonga, Wyndham, Yarra Ranges, Yarriambiack 

Catchment Management Authorities: 

Corangamite, Glenelg Hopkins, North Central, North East

Victorian Storms - Mildura (11 November 2016)

 733 30 June 2019  Mildura
Victorian Storms and Floods 
(29 December 2016) 
 736  30 June 2019

Alpine, Banyule, Bayside, Cardinia, Darebin, Glen Eira, Greater Dandenong, Hume, Kingston, Knox, Latrobe, Macedon Ranges, Manningham, Maroondah, Nillumbik, Port Phillip, Strathbogie, Wangaratta, and Yarra Ranges

*  Denotes the impact to the local CMA and not the LGA.