Senior management


The Department is managed by the Senior Executive Group (SEG), led by the Secretary. Collectively, SEG has significant public and private sector management experience in the areas of economics, finance, people management and technology.

David Martine is Secretary, Department of Treasury and Finance

David joined DTF as Secretary in February 2014. Prior to joining DTF, David worked as a senior executive in the Commonwealth public sector providing strategic advice to governments on a range of complex economic and other policy issues. He has extensive budget, finance, policy and organisational leadership experience, and has been involved in wide ranging strategic policy reform.

David was educated in Melbourne and has an honours degree in economics from Monash University. He completed his Master of Business Administration in 2005.

Simon Hollingsworth is Deputy Secretary, Budget and Finance Division

Simon is responsible for providing advice on the State’s fiscal resources, financial management and consolidated reporting, and providing financial advice on public sector workplace agreements.

Simon joined DTF in October 2016. Prior to this he was CEO of the Australian Sports Commission. Previously, Simon worked with the Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet in various leadership roles within the Policy and Cabinet Group. This included a secondment to work for the United Kingdom Government’s Department for Education and Skills in London. Prior to joining government, Simon worked at The Boston Consulting Group and MinterEllison.

Simon holds degrees in Commerce and Law (Honours) from the University of Tasmania and a

Master of Arts (Politics and Philosophy) from the University of Oxford, where he studied as a Rhodes Scholar. Simon is a dual Olympian and represented Australia in the 400-metre hurdles and 4 x 400-metre relay on numerous occasions.

Amy Auster is Deputy Secretary, Economic Division

Amy is responsible for the provision of high level economic and policy advice to Government on productivity, taxation and regulation, along with social, environmental and development issues.  Amy joined DTF in September 2016.

Prior to joining DTF, Amy served as Executive Director of Monash University's Australian Centre for Financial Studies and was a member of the Monash Business School faculty executive. Previously, she spent nearly 20 years working in the financial services industry including at ANZ Banking Group as Head of International Economics, Head of FX Strategy and Global Head of Client Engagement and at global investment banks including JPMorgan and Merrill Lynch in New York.

She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Northwestern University in Chicago, and a Masters degree in economics and finance from Columbia University's School for International and Public Affairs in New York. 

David Webster is Deputy Secretary, Commercial Division

David is responsible for providing high‑level commercial, financial and risk management advice to the Government, including a focus on major commercial transactions, infrastructure and the State’s balance sheet.

David commenced as Deputy Secretary in November 2011 and has more than 20 years’ extensive international corporate and commercial senior management experience specialising in economic infrastructure and public private partnerships as a fund manager, equity investor, financial adviser and lender.

Prior to joining DTF, David worked for RBS Funds Management in Sydney as Executive Director and Chairman of RBS Funds Management (Australia) Limited. Previously, David was Investment Director at EISER Global Infrastructure Fund in London and Head of Infrastructure Advisory at RBS London.

He has a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Queensland and a Masters of Business Administration from London Business School.

Gayle Porthouse is Deputy Secretary, Corporate and Government Services Division

Gayle is responsible for the efficient delivery of financial, people, information, legal, planning, procurement and technology services to DTF, which supports the Department to achieve its objectives and capacity to serve government.

She is also responsible for the management of whole of Victorian Government services provided to departments and agencies, including the development of policies and initiatives to achieve continuous improvement in facilities and real estate management, procurement and strategic sourcing.

Before joining DTF in July 2014, Gayle worked at the Department of Premier and Cabinet as Executive Director, Governance and Operations group and has more than 30 years' experience in the public service.